Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Self Employed

User
Posted 08 Sep 2014 at 13:47

Hello all,

I'm 57 years old and found out a couple of weeks ago that I have localised prostate cancer. I've just about come to terms with it now (this site has helped) and will have robotic surgery at the end of October, after which I need to tackle the after effects!

I work as a self employed IT Consultant (Project Management), so work on 3 to 12 month contracts in various different organisations and industries. Due to a rubbish pension, I also have many years left to work before I can retire!

My concern is that if I let people know, such as my current employer, IT colleagues, friends and recruitment agencies, it will have a detrimental effect on me securing future contracts.

I've always supported Prostate charities and things like 'Movember', so it came as a real shock when I found out that it was my turn! There is still a stigma around the words, once people hear 'Cancer' they think you are a goner!

So far, I've only told family and close friends but soon I will need to tell people that I will not be able to work for 4-8 weeks in November, December. I see my options as being:

1. Use a 'cover story' such as a different and less controversial operation that will keep people from knowing the truth.

2. Come clean and tell people that I have Prostate Cancer and just go with the consequences even if it effects my work.

I would be grateful for other peoples experiences and views?

Thanks

Bill M.

User
Posted 08 Sep 2014 at 13:59

It's ridiculous that you should even have to post this! There are a number of us on this site who have come through robotic surgery recently, and are making good progress in our recoveries. I would be open and make sure that you emphasise it is a relatively short break you are having. You may find yourself able to work from home within a week or two of the op.

Good luck with your op and sorry you have joined our club!