I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Knowing whether my dad will be ok

User
Posted 11 May 2015 at 19:23
Hi all I'm new to this and joined as I wanted support with others with family members with prostate cancer. I'm 22 and my dad who is 63 got diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer in November 2010, his psa was around 20. He had radiotherapy and has hormone injections every three months, his count went down to 00.1 but has slowly risen throughout the years, it's now 2015 and his psa is 14, they can't remove the cancer but can only keep it at bay. He may have to have chemotherapy, how long can all this treatment and life go on for?? Just wanted to know if anyone has any close stories to this and would just like some support, Thankyou, Heather x
User
Posted 11 May 2015 at 20:54

Hello Heather and welcome.

I cannot answer regarding radiotherapy and hormone treatments as our was different.

However, there are many men on here, some with incurable Prostate cancer, who are living with and will continue living with cancer for a long time to come.
Many of them have had higher PSA than your dads.

If you click on the name under somebody's icon, you will be able to pick up their profile and read their story.
Look at Yorkhull's for example.
Please don't despair at this stage. There are many treatments available and new ones coming in as time goes on.

I expect somebody else will be along at some stage to offer their advice.

In the meantime, you could look at the site's Toolkit obtainable by going to the Home page, Information then Publications. Have a look and see what would be relevant to you and order it.

If you want to speak to somebody then you can ring the nurses on the site for reassurance.

Best Wishes Heather
Sandra

We can't control the winds - but we can adjust our sails
User
Posted 11 May 2015 at 21:46