Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Help for a Diagnosis Required

User
Posted 12 Apr 2016 at 11:47

Hi everyone. I'm new to all this.

Here goes: (All NHS) 9/2/2015 had well-man clinical blood tests done which in which a PSA blood test came back at 5.1 (I was 60 years old). Dr worried so sent me onto hospital, where, on:

24/2/2015 had a Transrectual Ultrasound guided Biopsy (TRUS) which came back (3/3/2015) benign for malignancy, with prostate volume 40.5cc, PSA Density 0.13.

Over the course of the year had further PSA tests which came back at: 6.1. & 7.3.

Due to these results the hospital sent me on 13/11/2015 for a MRI scan of Prostate.

2/12/2015 during the results of the MRI scan: I was told that, on a scale 1-5, 1 & 2 is not cancer, that 4 & 5 is cancer. I'm 4 - 'inconclusive! and therefore will have to have a template biopsy (transperineal biopsy) (as a hospital day case anaesthetic).

11/01/2016 (Age 61 now) had a Pre-Operative Assessment at the hospital.

Have never heard back from the hospital for the op. and the Hospital/Consultants secretary never answers 'phone.

Re-visit my Dr who suggests another PSA test which now comes back as 9.5 

My Dr wrote last month to the hospital with regards to his concerns and would it be possible to move me forward in the (7 to 8 month waiting list) queue.

Heard nothing back.

Can anyone in the community help mine & my wife's anxiety with, what seems to us, to be an extremely long delay in obtaining this biopsy, and therefore a diagnosis, especially seeing that I had a pre-op over 3 months ago and no mention of the wait was made then! What's the point of a pre-op without an op?

I cannot afford private.

Please help, as the waiting and uncertainty is killing me!

Thanks,

Gareth Davies

Edited by member 14 Apr 2016 at 21:21  | Reason: Not specified

User
Posted 12 Apr 2016 at 13:02
Hi Gareth,