Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

referred for biopsy.

User
Posted 11 Sep 2016 at 15:56
Hi, first time post.

3 months ago my gp noticed a PSA of 6.1 and gave me some tablets which reduced that to 5.0 I was referred to Urology and had a DRE which showed the prostate to be smooth but firm. I've now been scheduled for a biopsy in a month or so. I have no urinary symptoms associated with PC but can't help myself worrying about things. I'm 55 and a pro drummer. Most things I've read suggest that 5.0 is low and that having no symptoms is favourable but I'm new to this and would appreciate any help or insight if anyone has any similar experience. Thank you.

Gordon.

User
Posted 11 Sep 2016 at 19:23

Hi Gordon
This can be a bit of a long ordeal but you need to take each step at a time and not think the worst. I'm only 49 now and a PSA of 4 then 6 then 4 was ignored. Click my profile and read my story. It's not good reading but shows that these things should never be ignored , and tackled assp. I had zero urinary symptoms whatsoever , but if I'm honest was struggling with mild ED and a drastic change in ejaculation over a year or so. Generally speaking a PSA over 2 for a man your age is high , but mine was 15 when flagged and rise to 42 before my op. However some people on here have had much higher or lower PSA but been blighted with the disease. What is most important is the rate of change of PSA. That tends to be a better indicator. It sounds like you have had antibiotics and that they have helped. This can be a good sign. Hope the biopsy goes well and please stay in touch. I'm the world's biggest worrier , but try not to worry. It genuinely does not help one iota.
Take care
Chris

User
Posted 11 Sep 2016 at 19:52

Evening Gordon and welcome

My husband's (aged 72) PSA started at 5.9 rising to 6.3 and he too had virtually no symptoms apart from mild ED which we had put down to age.