Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Tests are looking like PC

User
Posted 16 Mar 2017 at 10:13

Hi

This is my very first time posting so please accept my apologies in advance if the info I provide is not clear.

I am 44 and as part of a routine set of bloods my PSA can back at 3.25and my first DRE showed a nodule on my apex this was confirmed by the urologist.

I have now had a n MRI and they have confirmed a 1cm nodule on the Apex and they want to biopsy asap as the MRI could not determine malignancy or not. Can anyone advise if a Biopsy is the only way they can be sure one way or another and what % of biopsy's come back with malignancy.

I have two young kids and I am scared to death

Thanks Everyone

Lee

User
Posted 16 Mar 2017 at 14:15

Hi Lee,
In addition to my previous response on the other post, yes biopsy is the only way to be sure if it is cancer or not. In terms of % i do not know the answer. My husband's PSa was also around 3 and his tumour was not even visible on the MRI but the biopsy came back with 8 of 12 samples positive for cancer. His score was Gleason 3 + 3. His urolologist was surprised by the result. I suspect your chances of a positive diagnosis are a little higher as something can be seen in the prostate.
It is a very scary time but hopefully if it is positive you have been caught early​ and it can be treated.
Julie

User
Posted 16 Mar 2017 at 15:39

Lee

I'm 46 with a 15 year old and 17 year old, so I know how you feel.  Did you have a multi-parametric MRI?  If you did, you could ask for your PIRAD score.  My PIRAD score was 5, meaning that clinically significant cancer is highly likely to be found on biopsy.  It was found - T3b and Gleason 9.

Ulsterman

User
Posted 16 Mar 2017 at 20:02