I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Lonely

User
Posted 27 Mar 2017 at 22:36
My Dear Dad was diagondsed 4 years ago, Gleason 9 but no spread, he had hormone therapy followed by 8 weeks radiotherapy which he coped really well with! Consultant recommended follow up hormone therapy which finished sometime later. He has regular pas tests which up until September were great, unfortunately last three consecutive tests were rising :( a ct scan showed a swaollen numph gland, which consultant suggests more hormone therapy followed by radiotherapy depending on bone scan! Can anyone throw any light on this, was very optimistic with Dad and trying to keep poisitive and would love some moral support.
User
Posted 28 Mar 2017 at 05:20

Good morning, Countrygirl.

Take it easy. Here you will find great support, as I do.

I'm not an expert at this subject yet as my husband is just beginig this bad journey, but as some member on here say, "PCa isn't always curable but it's treatable."

Give more details about Dad's issue so they can help you: age, Gleason, stage, tests, etc etc.

Everyone must be sleeping right now, but I am sure they will give you some wise and relieving response later.

Best wishes,

Lola.

User
Posted 28 Mar 2017 at 08:22

Hello Countrygirl and welcome

Lola is right. Please tell us more about dad's results as it helps with giving advice. I can't offer any as i don't have that knowledge but I'm sure one of the others will be along to also support you.

Best Wishes

Sandra

We can't control the winds - but we can adjust our sails
User
Posted 28 Mar 2017 at 08:36

Hello,
Finding HT doesn't 'cure' isn't unusual, see my profile, but as the others have said, what are his PSA figures, how much has it gone up?
There are many men who are on a 'watch and see' where they have HT for a year then wait to see the rise is afterwards before going back on HT, Intermittant Hormone Therapy.