I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Chill or be terrified?

User
Posted 10 Dec 2017 at 18:20

I'm very new to this. I had a PSA score of 18 just over 2 weeks ago. I asked for a test as I noticed I have been going to the loo several times a night for weeks, months, (years?). My GP told me I had a 95% (???) chance of having prostrate cancer. I am a 50 year old single man. My 20 year old son lives with me, god only knows what i would have done if he didn't. I have a twin brother and 2 elder brothers who have been fantastic. I can't tell my mother as my father died of prostrate cancer at the age of 54. He was diagnosed during my first term at university and he died at the start of my final year. So I only know one person who has had prostrate cancer. I have read up on the symptoms and had an MRI scan last Tuesday with a review with consultant urologist this Tuesday. I've had 2 DRE's and with those indications I'm hoping (?) to be diagnosed pc type T2b but wiil need biopsy first. If I can be treated I would like not to tell my mother. Suffering pretty bad anxiety and drinking a bit too much but it has helped me sleep very well! I still get to work for ten past seven each morning. I have never felt any pain but I do "feel" something. Worst Christmas present I've ever had!

User
Posted 10 Dec 2017 at 20:44
Hi Rich12
I love the title of your thread so if this is the question you are asking my answer would be to chill.
Understandably you are worried as a result of your previous contact with PCA but there really are so many treatments available these days that the future isn't all gloom and despondency. Each set of test results will give you more information about your own condition which gives you the opportunity to discuss it with your medical team.