Notification

Error

Prostate Cancer & Bladder Cancer

User
Posted 03 Feb 2015 at 15:02

Hi,

Im new to this.

My husband has just turned 60 in January'15,

He has had bladder cancer on/off for 15yrs and been treated with BCG Vaccine which has kept it in the bladder, now on 10th Dec'14 was diagnosed with Prostate cancer his 1st PSA was 9 then 2 days later 9.8 he has had biopsies & MRI scan done which showed he has a Gleason score of 3+3=6 and T2 graded.  In January 2015 had another PSA blood test and nurse called yesterday to say it has risen to 12.8 that is approx 2 months since last PSA, he is due to go in for another Cystoscopy for Bladder on 13th Feb'15 and they said they will talk to him then regarding where we go from here with the results of Bladder.

When he was 1st diagnosed with PC in December we agreed with the consultants to opt for active surveillance as they did not recommend any treatment due to the bladder cancer, it would cause a lot of complications if they treated the Prostate as they needed to go through the prostate to check bladder (very confusing), they said if the bladder cancer returns then they would suggest removing both the bladder & prostate at the same time.

Also had a heart attack in November last year, had stents put in and also another heart problem in January'15 which more stents put in another artery. And diabetes type 2 insulin

Just wanted to know if there is anyone that has had both cancers and what their story is please.

User
Posted 03 Feb 2015 at 18:39