I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Working post diagnosis

User
Posted 08 Jan 2018 at 17:58
I’m interested to hear peoples experiences on working post diagnosis/ treatment. I was diagnosed with incurable PCa back in May and started hormone therapy immediately and went on Abiraterone as well (instead of chemo). I’ve really struggled with the side effects, particularly fatigue but, in any event, I didn’t want to be on my death bed in X years time and think back and say “wow you worked really hard in the years before you died”.

I’m an accountant with my own firm and I’m co-owner but I’m also only 60 and wasn’t planning to retire until 64 or 65. However I have cut my hours down and pick my 4 year old Grandson up from school 3 days a week and intend to cut down further from Feb. Having said that I still work way more than the 26 hours I’m supposed to do!

Anyway, today I got a note from my business Partner expressing concerns that my illness and the way I deal with at work (open, Frank and honest) was having such a negative impact on the practice that I should look to retire ASAP, either that or buy him out!

I’m not sure he quite meant it the way it came across but I can’t afford not to work and, if I don’t work I’ll just sit at home and mope about the future.

I’m interested in what other folk living with this horrible disease did about work, business, life balance etc. Did anyone carry on banging out silly hours at work or did the bulk of us do something similar to what I did?

User
Posted 09 Jan 2018 at 09:05

Tony,

If you look at my profile you will see where I am on this journey.

I still work, mainly for the mental stimulus that it gives me and the boost it gives me to be working with fitter people who do not give me time to dwell on my issues.