I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Cancer or BPH concerns

User
Posted 17 Mar 2018 at 18:35

Hi I just joined the forum and would be grateful for any advice i can get please

I am 60 and have been having problems emptying my bladder, both at night and during the day. I have had a DRE but the doctor says my prostate was too large to examine properly so I am being sent for an MRI scan and possibly a biopsy.

Because my father had prostate cancer and two other family members also had it I have been checking my PSA since 2013. Then it was 1.6

In 2015 it was 2.1 and in January 2017 it was 2.0

Then in February 2017 I was quite ill with a bout of prostatitis when the feeling of not having peed properly started, but the fever I had subsided and I felt better. I had another PSA 6 months later in July 2017 because the problem of not feeling satisfied after a pee never went away and a nagging pain in my penis also started.  I then had another bout of prostatitis in August 2017.

Now in March 2018 my PSA is 2.83 so it's edging up and I have developed lower back pain and also suffer from erectile dysfunction in addition to the unsatisfied peeing and penis pain. I didn't have ED 12 months ago.

I have read on here and on other sites that the PSA test, the DRE and indeed some MRI and biopsies are not entirely reliable so I obviously want to be making the right decisions and choices now as opposed to later.

Hopefully I just have BPH and possibly even chronic prostatitis having had it twice in the last 12 months but I am obviously concerned I have PC.

Thanks

User
Posted 17 Mar 2018 at 19:48