Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

New to Casodex

User
Posted 05 Aug 2014 at 15:45

Hi all

Well, I've been strolling along on Zoladex since 21st March2011 but now it's Casodex as well. Read the side effects sheet and was much taken aback. Is breast development common? I already fell pretty fatigued. I constantly itch and my memory is shot to hell. Will all this just get worse.... Though I am on the low 50 mg dose so might that be less problematic?

Also wondered if anyone had had the blast of radiotherapy in advance to stop breast swelling? Not available in Norwich so is it worth travelling?

I'd be grateful for any advice as my consultant doesn't want to see me till November, despite the new prescription

Dave

User
Posted 05 Aug 2014 at 18:09
Hi Dave,

John was on 50mg casodex for 9 months but the man boobs and spreading tummy made themselves apparent very quickly. Unfortunately he wasn't offered the RT beforehand and once the problem moobs develop it's too late. Moobs are one of the side effects that can be permanent so in hindsight John would definitely have had the short blast if it had been available.

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard

User
Posted 06 Aug 2014 at 12:28
Hi Dave,

At onetime I had Casodex 150 and did have the sore, swollen boobs trouble with a few months

My oncologist prescribed Tamoxifen which helped a lot.

I stopped the Casodex after 6 or 7 months and luckily i wasn't left with lasting 'moob's.

George

User
Posted 24 Aug 2014 at 17:44
Thanks for the information
User
Posted 04 Sep 2014 at 14:10

Hi there.

Like Dave, I was on Zolodex only since April 2011 and initially PSA dropped from 79 on diagnosis to as low as 1.2. Gradually the PSA started to rise until it reached 7.2 in July 2014. Like Dave I went on Casodex 50mg eight weeks ago.