I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Long Haul Trucker, should I return to work after diagnosis?

User
Posted 14 Sep 2015 at 19:22
Greetings, I'm seeking an opinion(s) whether I should return to work as a long haul driver at this time.

I was diagnosed with adenocarcinoma Sept 10 2015 less than 1 week ago.

T2, Gleason score 7 (3+4), PSA >11 <20, Group IIA, radical prostatectomy recommended as treatment.

I drive throughout Canada and the USA. Each tour is 7 to 12 days out. 7 days home.

My concern is the potential consequences of being in the truck with full knowledge of having cancer.

For example, in the event of a collision, a lawyer may argue i was distracted with personal issues and I should not have been in the truck.

This job has the potential to be very dangerous to myself and others. I regularly haul over 80,000lbs and Dangerous goods. I have over 7 years experience with no accidents (yet).

Although I feel fine, I'm not sure how that might change after several days on the road.

Any thoughts and/or insights would be greatly appreciated, particularly from other drivers.

Cheers.

User
Posted 14 Sep 2015 at 22:03

Hi Hippie,
we are a UK based forum and I think the views and experiences of members here may not be that helpful to you as the US is so much more litigious than the UK. Having said that, most people on here manage to continue working just fine - except for those recovering from the op - and on the basis of your stats and early diagnosis, I can't see why you wouldn't be able to work. Why not give your insurer a call and ask for a view - you could always have the conversation without giving your name to begin with just in case.

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard

User
Posted 14 Sep 2015 at 23:42

Hi Hippie,