Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

cyberknife treatment

User
Posted 18 Mar 2016 at 19:36

Hello,

Has anyone had cyberknife radiotherapy on their lymph nodes which are showing signs of prostate cancer. My husband has had one treatment to an affected node last year which resulted in the eradication of the affected node and may have treatment for two more spreads and then there is no funding for further treatment. So I am just wondering if anyone else is having on going cyverknife treatment for affected lymph nodes and how it is going.

Dinozo

User
Posted 19 Mar 2016 at 16:02
D

I have no knowledge of cyberknife treatments, but replying will bump you up the conversations.

Many people including myself go to recent conversations since last vist, because new conversations get moderated they do not appear.

Thanks Chris

User
Posted 19 Mar 2016 at 18:50

Cyberknife is another form of RT but a particularly precise one. I was wanting to go down this route myself as UCLH said they thought I had cancer in a lymph node. I therefore went back to The Royal Marsden who were one of the hospitals who were using it, only to be told they they were unconvinced from the scans I had cancer in this node so no treatment. (2 other hospitals shared the time opinion having viewed my scans). I am sorry funding seems to be drying up because if developments show UCLH to be right and the others wrong, I would hope to have Cyberknife.

Barry
User
Posted 19 Mar 2016 at 23:11

I had Cyberknife treatment on one lymph node last October.

No HT involvement.

Prior to that, PSA was 0.7

Three monthly post treatment was 0.4

Six month PSA is 0.3

So the treatment has had some positive effect.

The hospital where I had the Cyberknife does a telephone follow-up at three monthly intervals regarding how I feel; any side-effects and so on but no diagnostics.