I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Snotty grandchildren!

User
Posted 04 May 2016 at 17:59
Sorry for the title but...I'm supposed to be visiting my dad at the weekend with my two young boys. Dad is really looking forward to seeing us, especially his beloved grandchildren, but unfortunately they are both full of snot and sneezes. There are not ill, no fever or temp, just a cold but I'm really worried about dad picking anything up whilst having his chemo. Dad is telling me it will be fine and to still come but I just wondered what anyone else thought??
Thank you in advance.
User
Posted 04 May 2016 at 20:45

Sorry, can't help as I have no experience of Chemo..

My gut feeling would be to keep the grandchildren away.

Just 'bumping' this post up to the top in the hope that someone with more knowledge will be able to offer advice.. x

User
Posted 04 May 2016 at 21:44

Well it is not ideal and depending on where in his cycle he is, could be devastating. On the other hand, my father in law would have said that there was no point having treatment to stay alive if he then couldn't do the things that made him feel he was living.

Perhaps a call to the chemo suite for advice, or don't let them kiss him?

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard
User
Posted 04 May 2016 at 22:23

Lyn's point is a good one ........ if it was me it would be very hard to convince me that I couldn't see my grandchildren whatever the circumstances!

dl

User
Posted 04 May 2016 at 22:58
My OH went through chemo so i know the risks. It is advisable not to have close contact with colds, infections etc particularly at the point where the white blood cells are lowest.
I agree with others, check it out with hospital as it is easy to end up in hospital with infection.
Take care.
Glen
User