I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Bone metastasis to spine and pelvis

User
Posted 12 May 2016 at 22:12

Hi all, my name is Polly i'm new to the online community and this is my first post - unfortunatley not a happy one to start with. 

My stepdad (63) has recently been diagnosed with advanced prostate cancer. His story so far is that we found out he had prostate cancer and a tumour on his bladder in March. After having an operation to remove the tumour we then found out from a biopsy that he had advanced prostate cancer with a Gleason score of 8/ PSA 15. Following this he had some bones scans, and we have found out today that it has now spread to his spine and his pelvis. 

He started taking his hormone treatment last Wednesday(4th May) following his scan, he's currently on Bicalutamide, then he will have to have the hormone injections. The doctor today informed us that he is being referred to an oncologist and he will most likely have to have 'early chemo'.

The whole experience has felt so rushed. Nurses have rushed conversations with me after waiting days for a call back, then say they only have a minute to speak. Even today I felt like the doctor just gave the results of where it has spread and hurried us out the door within 5 minutes. I feel so frustrated after waiting days to get any answers and they still just hand you a booklet and just rush you out. I'm the type of person who wants to have as much information as possible so I can help as much as possible and know what we have to do to fight this.

I'm just hoping for any words of wisdom or experience that anyone can offer. I've spent most evenings reading about diet and things we can do, and all the doctors say is, 'oh well we just recommend a healthy diet' - but give no context to what this means and expect you to find out!