Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

advice for Dad

User
Posted 13 Apr 2017 at 21:47

Hi all

New here today . My Dad has just been diagnosed with Prostate Cancer , so experiencing all the anxious feelings I'm sure you're all familiar with but trying to remain positive 

Gleason Score 8 (4+4) PSA 18 

age 65

He has scans next Thursday to find out more and if has spread to bones or other areas. 

From what I've read so far on various websites, I'm finding it difficult to assess whether its likely to have spread with these results. 

Would welcome any advice , especially from anyone with similar results at diagnosis stage.

Thanks so much 

Sam

User
Posted 14 Apr 2017 at 05:54

Wellcome to the site, Sam.

This is the right site to get information and support, I'm not very experienced yet as my OH has just started his journey. All I can tell you by now is that my husband is 4+3=7 Gleason. He has clear TC and bone scan. You must wait for dad's results. Try to keep calm.

From what I have learned from (off?) here and doctors is that even in case the PCa had spead there are many options to deal with it. Don't panic.

Hope someone will soon give you more information and advice,

If you have a look at members' profile you will see many people with meth that are doing well despite it.

My best wishes. Fingers crossed!

Lola,

User
Posted 14 Apr 2017 at 08:14

Hello Sam.

If you go to Publications on this site you can download The Toolkit, a useful set of leaflets on Prostate Cancer, the various treatments, side effects etc.

IT's difficult to offer much advice yet as he won't know which treatment path will be offered to him. Once he has the MRI scan results it will make life a bit more certain. Even if the news isn't great, then at least plans can be put into place. IT's the not knowing that is the horrible part.