I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Different experiences and possible ways forward

User
Posted 03 Dec 2018 at 12:15

I am a newbie to the Prostate Cancer NHS Case load and to this idea of talking about cancer on line

I am 76 and a Type 2 Diabetic with Heart problems

I was diagnosed in October 2018 PSA 99 then 67 T2

Biopsie resultsnot good at all but the good news is The Very Active Cancer hasn't spread.

What a relief !

After two months of "What next?" Wait and See "More tests then a scan' wait and see - seem to have been very lucky with a quick, kind  and efficient team

Decision of now Active Watching and waiting - seeing a consultant in January after another PSA.

I am now planning to move my life forward again - hooray for such a rapid response from the Treliske Urology.

As a matter of interest I did the Sloan Kettering thing and according to the statistic analysis - PROBABILITY

The good news is that I have a TWO percent chance of dying from untreated prostate cancer in ten years

The bad new is that I have an 88 percent chance of dying of some thing else

The really good news is that means I have ten percent chance of living ten years - possibly much more than I can reasonably expect.

So I am saying that, while it is sometimes difficult and the inevitable periods of depression are not good, there is a bright light at the end of the tunnel for most of us.

With the help from a supportive partner aka my wife I am still progressing - A quick cuddle always helps us both!

regards

Mervyn

If you find any more sad links to Kierkegard words of wisdom - for crying out loud, be a bit more optimistic and original

Proverb - Statistics are brilliant - especially if you know the answer you want before you start

Edit
Delete

User
Posted 03 Dec 2018 at 12:37
What happened to your earlier post and my reply to you regarding the MSK Nomogram prognostications?
User