Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

nervous wife pre-op

User
Posted 10 Jan 2019 at 15:06

Hello!

This is my first time posting. My husband is having his prostatectomy on Jan 22nd by Da Vinci here in Indiana, USA. We are young (mid 50's), active, have 4 kids, (two teens still at home). We found out by routine blood tests as his levels had rocketed over a couple of years.  Had the cancer confirmed last summer 2018 and he was a 3+3 on first diagnosis, by December a 3+4 hence the surgery now.

We have a lot of faith and trust in our surgeon, and optimistic that nerves will be spared, etc, but we are both worried about life afterwards in different ways. Hubby went for his pre op and the nurse told him that he must remember to bring baggy tracksuit pants for coming home post surgery. That was a big reality pill for him as HE had not really thought much about practicalities like that, so we had to go shopping! Since then we have been avidly looking online for practical help and advice and am so glad we found this site. If anyone would be kind enough to reach out with any practical hints we would really appreciate it. For example, even though he is having robotic surgery via his abdomen, will he need a "doughnut" cushion to sit on? I will be doing the driving and want him to be as comfy as possible on the journey home from hospital which is over 60 miles from our home in the boondocks!

Thank you all!

User
Posted 10 Jan 2019 at 21:33

Brandy