Israel claims cure for cancer

User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 13:20

I just hope I last long enough for something like this to become viable :(

Edited by moderator 06 Jul 2023 at 10:28  | Reason: Not specified

User
Posted 01 Feb 2019 at 12:16

We've been down this road before.

I'm happy to wait for a peer reviewed article in a reputable journal. The simple fact that this team is promoting their work through mass media rather than the proper route for serious research says it all.

You don't need big money to get important research published - the journals would bite your arm off. The truth is that double blind peer review can be a painful experience, especially if it exposes poor methodology.

When I was an editor, I was once sent a study for potential publication: the authors had set up the study on the cheap, and there were glaring holes in the methodology. Essentially, they simply couldn't justify any of their claims. I rang the lead author to explain why we couldn't publish it. "What do you want me to change?" he asked. "it doesn't work like that", I had to tell him. Months later, I saw the study - rewritten, with a different methodology, in a 'less than reputable' journal.

Standards are high in research circles, and we should be deeply suspicious of anyone who tries to circumvent them.

User
Posted 01 Feb 2019 at 13:52
Hallelujah!

We’re all cured!
User
Posted 01 Feb 2019 at 16:16

The website Science-Based Medicine demolishes the claim pretty thoroughly.

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/is-an-israeli-company-about-to-cure-cancer/

Show Most Thanked Posts
User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 17:43

It seems they don't have the funding to pubish their findings . 

User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 18:12
Or to try it on anything other than mice
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard
User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 20:10
It’s ridiculous how the media spin these stories
User
Posted 01 Feb 2019 at 12:16