I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Early rise in PSA after 3 months of HT

User
Posted 27 Feb 2019 at 07:28

Hi, im very worried about rise in OH’s PSA (4.93) disclosed yesterday, also persistent groin pain and high (although fallen) ALP. Has HT stopped working alrady?  Please see profile for details. Any comments gratefully received.

Thanks

Bettyx

User
Posted 27 Feb 2019 at 22:21

I'm afraid I'm not an expert, but for me, groin pain is just a symptom of the disease.

He has definitely been in the wars in a short period of time. My urologist recently commented to me that hormone therapy takes MONTHS to settle down. I think it requires two or three successive psa test increases over a period of time to be classed as refractory, but I'm sure somebody else will clarify this. So no, it's certainly too early to say hormone therapy has stopped working already, although Bicalutamide seems a very sensible precaution to me, and even so, abiraterone is a hormone therapy which may come along later. 

Docetaxel definitely isn't any fun, and mine was foreshortened, but it did reduce some pains, and I do not regret having it whatsoever. You can read my profile, I'm a similar age with similar horrible disease.

User
Posted 27 Feb 2019 at 23:23
The rise in PSA could be a result of the 5 zaps of RT to the bone mets. If that’s the case, it should drop again by the next test.

Don’t panic yet!

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard

User
Posted 23 Mar 2019 at 00:04
Betty, if in doubt, call 111
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard

User
Posted 23 Mar 2019 at 00:42

I would second what Lyn says. Call 111 or the number they gave you at Oncology. Better to be safe than sorry and they will not mind at all.

User
Posted 23 Mar 2019 at 07:52