I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Totally devastated and scared

User
Posted 04 Mar 2019 at 22:57

Hi all. This is my first time posting on this site. My husband (68) has just been diagnoised with advanced stage 4 prostate cancer which has spread to his bones (spine, pelvis, sternum,  humerus and left side of skull. Gleason 8 (4+4) and PSA 121. He attended the doctor because he was weeing a lot especially at night. The doctor referred him to an urologist because of a psa of 121. We were told his Prostate was enlarged and that it may be cancer but there was lots of treatments available. On 24 January He was started on hormone tablets for 3 weeks with an injection on 5 February which he has to have every three month. He is waiting to see oncologist which unfortunately isn't until 1 April. This seems a long time to wait. I telephoned and managed to get the appointment for 25 March. The waiting is terrible. He was told he would probably get Chemo by the urologist. We are due to go on Holiday to Torremolinos for a wedding at end of May and we are now not sure what will happen. I haven't spoken to travel insurance yet and am dreading not being able to get insurance  for future holiday in July  Not that holidays are important at the moment!!!  Other than pains in his knees he is pain free at present. How did this go from 'may have cancer' to 'advanced prostate cancer with mets'. 

User
Posted 04 Mar 2019 at 22:57