I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Any helpful ideas to support dad after surgery?

User
Posted 02 Apr 2019 at 10:39

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting. My dad is going to be having the robot surgery treatment soon and i was wondering if anyone had any ideas of anything i could get for him to help him either to make him comfortable after or pass time while he is recovering? He hasnt ever wanted to talk about his cancer, its beern swept under the carpet but i want him to know i care. I live too far away to phsyically be there. thanks

User
Posted 02 Apr 2019 at 14:54

Hello Missg858

im sure your Dad will know that you care and are thinking of him no matter how far away you are.

keeping him busy mentally, whilst recovering is important to take his mind off the worries of cancer.

so if your Dad has a hobby of some description encourage him to follow that either by reading up about it and planning what he intends to do when he is able to get out and about again.

my husband has prostate cancer which is advanced, he was not able to have the robot, but had radiotherapy last year and is still having symptoms from that.we make every day count, take days out, cinema, lunches, weekends away, walking, do charity fund raising to name a few.

i love a certain voucher company online ( not sure i can mention it on here 🤔) our children buy them for us as treats , it gets us out and about , making memories. so a voucher that suits his likes may  be a start for you. my best wishes to your Dad for his recovery, and to you and your family for his support.

chin up 👍🏻😊

User
Posted 02 Apr 2019 at 15:24
I had robotic surgery and the best thing you can do for your Pa is buy a waterproof mattress protector, (from eBay, for example), as whatever the skill of the surgeon, there are likely to be ‘accidents’, whilst the catheter is connected and afterwards.