Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Roller Coaster Journey

User
Posted 23 Apr 2019 at 13:44

Hello All,

I have been visiting this site since July 2017 when my OH got diagnosed and thought it was about time to say thank you for the help I have found on here! 😊 It has defiantly been a roller coaster of a ride with this disease to say the least, from the horrendous emotional outbursts to the fantastic loving times.

K had no symptoms of PCa but went for his MOT at the doctors and when they did blood tests his PSA came back as 9.5, so then all hell breaks loose with appointments, scans and a biopsy. The results came back as G9 ( 5+4 ), the scans showed several Mets to bones and told us he was T3A N0 M1. The side effects from the treatments have been terrible especially the hot flushes! K now suffers with depression, anxiety and with it being in his spine he has 4 discs pushed out of place.

So far, the treatments he has had;

Zoladex injections every 3 months

6 x Docetaxel sessions started straight away which brought his PSA down to 0.2!

Zometa infusions every 6 weeks started the same time as chemo

The PSA stayed at 0.2 until October 2018 when it went to 0.5, December 2018 0.6, January 2019 1.5

Onco started him on Cabazitaxel straight away but it has been stopped at number 4 because even though his PSA has dropped back down to 0.2 the latest MRI shows that it is now in his neck which is causing a lot of pain, headaches and dizzy spells.

Palliative Radiotherapy starts 25/04/19 for 5 days to his neck to help with pain. Has anyone else had radiotherapy to their neck? What are the side effects?

So far in this journey the PCa seems to be crippling him but his PSA is so low!!??

We are waiting for his next Onco appointment to come through at the moment so not sure what will be next!

Thank you

Edited by moderator 23 Apr 2019 at 13:47  | Reason: Duplicated content

User
Posted 10 May 2019 at 12:58