I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Secondary brain tumour from undiagnosed prostate cancer.

User
Posted 04 Jun 2019 at 07:02

Morning, 

I am totally new to this and never normally post anything online anywhere so apologies if I am doing this wrong.

My Dad had a brain tumour removed in March and the results showed that it is likely to have come from prostate cancer. He didn't know that he had prostate cancer and an mri scan and ct scan before his brain operation did not find much evidence of disease. Since the brain tumour has been removed, he has had a blood test to check his levels of psa. I don't know exactly what they were but the doctor said that they weren't unduly high. He has also had a bone scan that was clear and recently got an mri of his prostate. On a chance visit to his own doctor, he was told that there is a small tumour in his prostate.

I guess my main concern is how long do you have to wait to see a consultant to discuss it? Also how long before they will start treatment? He has never met anyone to discuss this apart from the neurosurgeon in early April who told him that he had secondary cancer.

Thanks in advance, 

A worried daughter

User
Posted 06 Jun 2019 at 03:31