Show search

Notification

Error

Very Enlarged Prostrate But Now Getting Concerned

User
Posted 17 Jun 2019 at 09:07

Hi Guys,

Worried newbie here.

I'm 60 and have had enlarged prostrate for about 8 years. My PSA started at 4.7 but is now 9.8.

My prostrate has been scanned at 100cc last year.

Had negative biopsy & MRI last November with patchy p3 (not sure what that meant) but decision was to watch and wait.

May 2019 woke with terrible back pain. Since then, I have had pains all round the groin region. Back, pelvis, hips, thighs. Never had any pains previously.

I'm convinced something has happened to my prostrate and I have read these pains are the sign of advanced PC.

I've gone back to doctors and he's sent Urology a letter to be referred back to them, but that could take ages.

Looking for any experiences from other sufferers. Has anyone had these pains from enlarged prostrate or do you think it might be APC?

User
Posted 17 Jun 2019 at 10:35

Normal prostate size is 30cc, but many men's prostates start growing from age 25 and don't stop, so prostates can be up to 120cc, and that in itself is not a worrying issue (although it can cause difficulty peeing). If we correct your PSA for your large prostate volume, 9.8 becomes 9.8/100*30=2.94 which is just within the top end of normal, but a simple volumetric correction could be misleading (high reading could be due to an area of PCa (prostate cancer) in a prostate which normally produces low PSA), so whilst that reading could be OK, it also might not be OK. Also, you didn't cycle, or do strenuous exercise, or ejaculate, or have a digital rectal exam (DRE) in the couple of days before the PSA test, did you? That will increase the reading.