I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

So scared for bad news and cancer has spread

User
Posted 17 Sep 2019 at 19:30

Hi everyone I’m new to this and looking for some encouragement. -i  am having a hospital meeting with my 56 year old husband tomorrow and am so scared. He’s had a positive biopsy and has been given a Gleason score of 4+4 ( I know that is not good and means likely to grow at a moderate rate) he’s been booked in for a bone scan and  I’m so scared that it’s spread to other organs and that there will be no hope. I’m so worried for the future with two teenagers and elderly parents and don’t want to stress out my husband anymore than necessary. Any advice welcome. 

User
Posted 17 Sep 2019 at 19:39
The Gleason score is important but in term of obtaining a durable remission the staging is equally (maybe more so) important. Do you have an indicative staging yet? What was his PSA?

The bone scan is normal routine BTW and will help with the staging.

User
Posted 17 Sep 2019 at 20:07

It is only after all scans/tests have been done and the patient's case reviewed by a Multi-disciplinary team that a full diagnosis is made and relayed to the patient along with treatment options that may be open to him. This may involve a meeting with a surgeon and another with an oncologist.

Try not to panic! There are treatments for the various stages of PCa even where it has spread and hubby could live for many years.

I suggest you download or obtain a copy of the 'Toolkit' as here https://prostatecanceruk.org/prostate-information/our-publications/publications/tool-kit?_ga=2.206109653.795867346.1564408880-1013787081.1564408880

This  provides a lot of useful information about the disease and pros and cons of various treatments.

Edited by member 17 Sep 2019 at 20:08  | Reason: To highlight link

Barry
User
Posted 18 Sep 2019 at 20:22
Hi,