Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Anxiously waiting

User
Posted 18 Oct 2019 at 08:08

Hi all, 

its my first time posting in the community and  am feeling a bit anxious about the whole diagnosis thing. 

I have been under my consultant for about 5 years watching my PSA as it was a bit high, I am now 51 and it seems to range between 4.5 and 2.5 with no logical reason and so I had an MRi and biopsy done about 2 years ago which came back negative and the MRI apparently may have had something on it. 

We carried on watching every 6 months and then I kept having blood tests and they kept cancelling appointments until I had been nearly 18 months between appointments. when I went back in March the consultant said as it had gone on for so long I really needed to have the more invasive biopsy. I had been reticent because my problems with urinating only came after the first biopsy and I didnt want it to get worse.  In fairness I take Tamsulosin and that sorts out the problem. 

I had the Biopsy on Tuesday and now I am anxiously waiting the results. Dont really know what to think, when I spoke to another surgeon, he said he had taken a look at my MRI and he couldn't see anything and so I felt a little better. 

My question is , could there be a non cancerous lesion or BPH that is causing me the issues and would they do a biopsy to diagnose that?  The Consultant is not very forthcoming and seems more insistent on me making the decisions rather than advising me

Thanks all

Tony    

User
Posted 20 Oct 2019 at 01:39

Sorry Tony, I don’t know how your post was missed yesterday!

Do you mean that your PSA has gone up and down over that time, or it was 2.5 and has now risen to 4.5? If it was up round the 4.5 mark but fell to 2.5 after you started taking the tamsulosin that could be a really good sign; this is because if you don't have prostate cancer Tamsulosin can reduce your PSA.