Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Imaging scans

User
Posted 09 Dec 2019 at 10:20

Hello all, 

I am new to this after my dad's recent diagnosis of APC, and so I have a lot of questions swirling around my head. I wondered if anybody had done any research on the advancements of imaging scans in the UK, and how much more they reveal than scans from say 10+ years ago. The reason I ask is I wonder if scans showing a small amount of mets nowadays would've been missed 10+ years ago, and therefore would that person have been staged at an earlier stage than they would be now? Does anybody know how much the scans have improved over the years in spotting tiny amounts of spread? 

In my research I have found a fair amount of success stories of people diagnosed 10-20 years ago, with PSAs in the hundreds and yet their scans at the time showed no spread. It makes me wonder if these people did actually have some small amounts of mets that just couldn't be seen. I'm very new to all this so but just looking to educate myself as much as possible and for some hope to hold on to. 

Many thanks. 

User
Posted 10 Dec 2019 at 22:45

Hey ,

Although advancements have been made in imaging in the last 10 years or so , it doesn’t necessarily mean those advancements are in the quality of imaging, for example it could be the acquisition time of scan in mri  or the radiation dose used to achieve the scan  In ct. Other advances would be the used of diffusion weighted imaging in MRI. 

prostate cancer goes to bones , bone mets could be picked up on a variety of imaging modalities - ct , mri and X-ray all show bone mets so there is little chance that even 10 years ago they would have been completely missed.