I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Prostatectomy finally got my date

User
Posted 06 Feb 2020 at 18:02

I get to have surgery to remove my prostate on 4/3/20 and I can't wait. 

When first diagnosed with PC my head was all over the place and I was mentally in a dark place, now I have gone full circle and feeling really positive and want to have the operation and look forward to the rest of my life. 

Was wondering as I am a self employed taxi driver how long would it be before I can start work again, not that I'll be rushing anything. 

Wishing everybody good luck with their journeys. 

Chris aged 54

User
Posted 06 Feb 2020 at 21:55
Ask your surgeon first, and have a look at the hospital RP info leaflet (if you are given one) and then give your insurer a ring to let them know you are having abdominal surgery.

If you are having da Vinci/ keyhole RP, most hospitals seem to advise 2 -4 weeks as long as you are able to do an emergency stop successfully. However, open RP takes longer (6-8 weeks) and my husband had to wait 12 weeks because his business / company car insurer would not cover him any earlier than that.
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard
User
Posted 07 Feb 2020 at 10:13
Don’t forget Chris, that in addition to driving, you’ll be expected to hump cases and luggage and wheelchairs in and out of the cab, which will be a no-no for many weeks after your op.

See your GP and get signed off before your op, and claim Employment Support Allowance if you qualify, as it takes weeks to process. You might get about £125 a week as long as you are unable to work.

Best of luck.

Cheers, John.
User
Posted 07 Feb 2020 at 13:42

My job involves sitting in front of a computer and travelling to the occasional "meeting".