I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Real head scratcher

User
Posted 20 Oct 2020 at 13:49

My husband was diagnosed with PC April 2020. PSA 7.6. Nothing abnormal on DRE. MRI & Template Biopsy on 2 areas. 15 samples from one & 16 from the other. Well contained within prostate. Result 3+3 =6 on Gleason score. Put on active surveillance.

Now the mystery begins. PSA July 2020 9.1 Conclusion was things still settling from biopsy & he may take a bit longer to heal. However PSA repeated October 1st 2020. This has now risen to 12.1!! 

Consultant is to be frank totally perplexed. As I am a retired registered nurse with some Urology experience I asked several questions as follows :

1. What was the chance the consultant who performed the biopsy missed an area? Answer was highly unlikely as very experienced consultant in this procedure who was brought to the hospital trust to do this & also trains other surgeons in the procedure. Also from the MRI they were very precise in where they went.

2. Why is PSA rising ? Answer '' I have no idea & I really cannot tell you. Therefore I would strongly advise we re biopsy. '' Admitted this is very unusual & he & the other Urologists within the department are scratching their heads. 

3. What else could be causing rise? Answer possible asymptomatic prostatitis but there should be some symptoms showing of this. ( there are none ). There is no urinary infection, no signs of discomfort, nothing.

So everyone is basically stumped. Consultant is arranging another template biopsy which my husband is overjoyed at but realises its a needs must. Has anyone on here had anything like this happen to them? Any help, suggestions would be gratefully appreciated. 

User
Posted 20 Oct 2020 at 16:19
Inflammation doesn't always produce symptoms but can raise the PSA. Same with prostatitis.