I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Newly diagnosed, the journey has begun

User
Posted 02 Nov 2020 at 11:38

Hi all, just been diagnosed last week after several years of niggles that no one could diagnose. I went from diagnosis of possible UTIs to it might be prostatitis and eventually when my PSA levels rose significantly I ended up with the mpMRI and TP Biopsy last month. I'm still coming to terms with all this, having had a heart bypass only three years ago I had hoped I've had my share of serious health issues but alas no.

My background is as follows...

I'm 50, non smoker, non drinker and average weight. I started having UTI like symptoms back in 2013 and over the next two years I had 14 episodes of these UTIs, each treated with antibiotics lasting a week to four weeks. I finally saw a consultant in 2015 who suggested prostatitis might be the cause. I had suggested this to my GP after my third or fourth UTI episode back in 2013!

Unfortunately he gave me Ciprofloxacin and I had a significant reaction to it after eight days of a six week course. I developed significant musculoskeletal issues and struggled walking and using my arms. I had tendon pains, headaches, fatigue, insomnia and developed neuropathy issues. I still have the muscle, tendon and neuropathy five years later and was diagnosed with fibromyalgia as a result. After the 2015 Cipro issues I had no further treatments for UTI/Prostate type issues and only had mild and infrequent issues, usually with needing to go more frequently at night and occasional discomfort after sex. In 2017 a whole new ball game started when I had emergency open heart surgery after suddenly developing episodes of chest pains. the GP insisted it was stress!