Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Options following recent diagnosis

User
Posted 05 Nov 2020 at 21:44

Hi

I'm new to this so I'm not quite sure how to start, but here goes...

I am 52 years old and fit and healthy. I had a routine medical a couple of years ago which picked up an enlarged prostate with a PSA of 3.3. Since then I have had several PSA tests, most recently three months ago which came back at 3.7 (relatively consistent with previous tests). I have also had two MRI scans over the past two years which came back clear. DRE examinations have always shown a smooth prostate.

I was surprised when my consultant recommended a biopsy recently, given the relatively consistent previous test results. However, the biopsy showed localised G7 (3+4) split between 95% G3 and 5% G4. Technically the stage is T1 but because there is a small amount of G4 in both lobes I guess it arguably falls under T2c.

My consultant tells me he is not 'excited' by the results - which he says is a good thing - and has basically suggested that I can consider three options: AS, RT or removal. Without indicating one way or the other I suspect that he thinks AS may be the best route to go down (I can change my mind and have treatment at any time) but he has put the ball in my court to make the decision. Playing on my mind is that I have family history of prostate issues as my father was diagnosed with prostate cancer in his mid-70s, but successfully overcame it with RT.

My initial reaction was to have it dealt with by RT but, on reflection, I am now considering AS. This would involve a PSA test and DRE every three months, and an MRI and template biopsy next September. The biopsy would involve 24 'hits' to give clearer results (my consultant referred to it as being similar to a game of Battleships).