Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

New member sharing my story for appropriate advice

User
Posted 01 Jan 2021 at 19:33

Happy new year.

Hello everyone, allow me to introduce myself. I am a family man, 59 years of age, lawyer by profession. My friend Trevor who has prostate cancer suggested i join this forum because the members are caring and helpful. I am not sure if sharing my story will raise any interest. I was diagnosed with rectal cancer T3/T4 in June 2019. At the time i was naive and did not understand anything about bowl cancer. The scheduled surgery was cancelled at the last minute and i was put on a 5 week radiotherapy and chemotherapy. The scans after 10 weeks showed good response tumour had disappeared but consultant was of the opinion that cancer cells were present although they agreed MRI scan are not so accurate. Surgery is the golden rule in bowl cancer which i refused. After my diagnose i did some research to understand my situation. Surgery has many complications attached you can end up with a permanent stoma and reoccurrence. I was referred to a senior consultant before the covid lock down who suggested i should have a flexible sigmoidoscopy to assess the situation. This was cancelled due to the lockdown in March. After the MRI scan in November i had a phone consultation with the consultant and was told something showing in the same location. After my diagnose i changed my diet to suggested natural foods, daily yoga and exercise. Currently i have no symptoms and i definitely don't want to follow the route of surgery. My understanding is cancer is the result of the body DNA breaking down. Therefore it the body that needs to clean out cancerous cells. I do intermittent fasting to achieve Autophagy mode. I am positive minded which is important but i am also worried as i don't have a clear pathway to follow for a solution. Any suggestions or information will be appreciated. Kind regards 

Stan

User