I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Problem with catheter

User
Posted 21 Feb 2021 at 12:41

Following my radio therapy treatment at the end of December 2020, I had a problem with water retention, necessitating the fitting of a “temporary “ catheter. There have been several problems with the catheter, but the latest one baffles me.  If I attach a bag, my flow is fine, but if I just use the catheter valve which was working fine before, I now “bypass” and the urine leaks from my penis. Any similar experiences?  

User
Posted 21 Feb 2021 at 14:47

Hi Dave,

I have no experience of this and as you've perhaps worked out yourself the pressure from the bladder is forcing urine through when you block the catheter.   I haven't heard of anyone having a tap on a catheter, although it sounds a good idea.   If it was that simple though I wonder if people would have operations to fit taps onto their bladder, fit clamps or carry round bags permanently.

Is it a matter of drinking less or slower?

It sounds like perhaps your retention problem has gone away and if the catheter is removed it might be alright.  I say might, I know very little about it although incontinence issues often clear up with time.

Regards
Peter

User
Posted 21 Feb 2021 at 15:35

Dave 

I have a flipflo and bag on an suprapubic catheter, the tap is now normally open. When I open after being closed it still drains straight away. I belong to a Catheter site and often see the issue you describe. Some of our engineer members came up with some interesting theories. 

I suspect it is to do the position of the balloon and outlets. On free drainage the urine will just seep through the outlets. With the flipflo closed the pressure may cause the balloon and outlets to be squashed against the bladder wall. As the pressure builds it will go out through the penis. I can bypass and drain at the same time. 

Thanks Chris

User