Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Any advice/thoughts

User
Posted 12 May 2021 at 12:37

Hello all, 

I’m a newbie just after advice if possible, I’m 57 active and like to think physically very fit. my story is during summer of 2020, I developed symptoms of needing to pee quite urgently and more often, not too much at night though, slightly weak flow, symptoms were intermittent. In January 2021 spoke with GP about it. DRE done couldn’t feel anything sinister  but commented my probate did feel enlarged. 

did PSA = 3.2 and was referred to Urologist who asked for re test in six weeks and put me on tamsulosin. And referred me back to gp. GP also did x ray of hip and pelvic area as I had slight pain in those areas - my job involves manual work, x rays revealed mild arthritis and wear and tear. Follow up psa was 2.8,  I found the tamsulosin made me feel a little light headed although they did help with my flow. GP said to stop tamsulosin and also told me that my psa in 2017 was 3.0 which I didn’t know but anyway Symptoms haven’t changed really so early May did a psa test with on line company came back as 3.5 contacted gp and now being referred to urologist again. May be me over thinking things but hip and pelvic pain seems to be worse and seem to feel discomfort when I sit on hard chairs. 

My dad had enlarged prostate and had a turp but they did find a small malignant area on histology. He went on til he was 89 though. 

two blunt questions really - would my psa reading be higher if it is pca and it has spread elsewhere and anyone any ideas if bph can cause discomfort when you sit on hard furniture etc?

thank you. 

User
Posted 12 May 2021 at 22:49
You can't track your PSA trends with tests done at different labs.