Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

My dads just diagnosed

User
Posted 25 May 2022 at 20:22

Hi all, 

im writing as a daughter an only child and someone who is terrified to lose their dad. My dad aged 70 has just been diagnosed with prostate cancer with a Gleason score of 9. He had no symptoms and he’s  currently awaiting a chest abdomen and bone scan for further results. I’m a registered care manager and deal with looking after people with cancer on a day to day basis and honestly some time too much knowledge is not good. Iv never seen my dad cry until two weeks ago when he found out and it’s frightened me. My dad has had 4 heart attacks in my life time from the age of 17 on wards which have scared me and now this. I am having nightmares every night that’s it’s spread and I’m going to lose my Hero and I really could do with some success stories or helpful information at the moment as I’m lost. I feel helpless as I’m not in control of the  situation and selfish for posting on here as a family member when I’m not experiencing what everyone else is. My dad is still healthy too look at cleans his car, looks after his garden etc but has lost weight. Anything off anyone would be appreciated xxx

User
Posted 25 May 2022 at 22:56
Do you know what his PSA is? Do you know that every man develops prostate cancer if he lives long enough? Nearly three quarters of men your dad's age have it. Most will die with it, not from it. Provided that it hasn't spread, it's a very treatable condition. Even if it has spread, many men live for ten years or more with it.

Best wishes,

Chris

User
Posted 26 May 2022 at 00:53