I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Anxiety and shock as Gleason 7 jumps to 9

User
Posted 13 Aug 2022 at 23:08

Having come to terms almost with living with a Gleason 7 having been advised low intermediate local I am extremely anxious as I now face a PSMA Scan next week with a sudden advance to Gleason 9 (4+5) following a biopsy in July after HIFU only last December. 

I know medicine isn’t a precise science, I work in the field,  but am both shocked and a little annoyed that following 4 mpMRIs and 3 targeted biopsies since 2020 that showing consistently one small Gleason 3+4 (<10% 4) on one side and no positives on a small PIRADS 3 lesion on the other side. With a PSA stable around 5 all along active surveillance was advised as the best option. 

Then September 2021 when istated to jump to 6 and by November it was 8 - so they treated the positive lesion with HIFU late December. Pre and a post MRI showed well treated and again the other side no change and still PIRAD 3. 

3 months follow up PSA 5 ( I am concerned so high still but no one is alarmed) but 3 months more it’s 6.9! 

I ask again for PSMA scan and told just MRI as probably just inflammation. However MRI does show change in the previous negative side so another biopsy. 

Bad news and a somewhat surprised consultant who sats beery unusual but sorry it is now advanced Gleason 9 - so referral to oncologist, repeat PSA 5.9 - immediate daily 150mg bicalutamide and PSMA ordered. 

Given my prostate volume was only 28, no BPH or symptoms - I have always thought the PSA was under estimating what was going on. 

Of course my fear is that this is an aggressive fast cancer that has spread outside the prostate to nodes or worse small spots of mets elsewhere will be revealed- even if my PSA is around 7 - it’s hard to be reassured when they always under estimated or told it is very unusual. 

User
Posted 14 Aug 2022 at 12:47