Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Hormone therapy and radiotherapy for localised cancer

User
Posted 30 Sep 2022 at 20:28

Hi

I am new to this. My Dad who is 84 has just been diagnosed.

He is starting hormone therapy in two weeks and has been advised to have radiotherapy in five months.

He is a bit concerned about side effects and would appreciate hearing other people experiences of these treatments.

We would really appreciate any responses.

Thank you

User
Posted 01 Oct 2022 at 01:35

Hello JJ,

Your Dad has been put on a pretty typical treatment path for a man of his age. There are several ways of administering RT but he is most likely to have 20 fractions (sessions) of External Beam Radio Therapy (EBRT). Most men find it is the HT element that contributes most strongly to after effects with the RT introducing others or exacerbating the effects of HT. To some extent the side effects of HT will depend on what HT is taken but in any case some men experience side effects more severely and or widely than others. Typically, with HT, many men will feel premature tiredness, fatigue using their limbs, loss of libido. Some experience hot flushes and fewer still a change in personality. The added RT can affect bowel habits and increase need and frequency to urinate. As might be expected the treatment is better tolerated by younger men who are generally fitter. It would help Dad if he tries to maintain fitness. Most men tolerate the treatment quite well. So depending who responds, experiences may differ.

I recommend that you download or obtain a hard copy of 'The Tool Kit' which provides more information on treatment and side effects.
https://shop.prostatecanceruk.org//our-publications/all-publications/tool-kit?limit=100

Edited by member 01 Oct 2022 at 01:36  | Reason: To highlight link

Barry
User
Posted 01 Oct 2022 at 01:36