I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

A worried wife

User
Posted 08 Nov 2022 at 16:50

Hello, I'm very new to this kind of thing and find myself extremely worried. 

My husband is 67 and started to have some urinary issues in June this year. They went away and returned mid August. He went for a urine test and was diagnosed with a urine infection. 1 week of antibiotics gave him a clear urine test but still some symptoms such as lower abdomen discomfort and some trouble urinating at night only on a few nights during August and for the past few weeks he's been fine with good flow during the day. His PSA is 27 and is still 27 following the antibiotic treatment. He was referred for an MRI scan as his DRE was abnormal and PSA of 27. Today was four weeks post MRI and we had a call to say they can see something on the scan and he needs to have a biopsy and also a bone scan. Is this the normal course of events for diagnosis? The nurse said he would start RT and HT on the day of the biopsy. We are both very concerned but wanted to hear from anyone who could give us some advise going forwards. Thank you all so much, AR 

User
Posted 08 Nov 2022 at 17:21

All normal I had psa off 24.9 found Gleason 9 after biopsy had 37 fractions off radiotherapy and on hormone therapy for 2 years 18 months on doing ok psa now 0.01 few niggles but mainly ok it's all normal biopsy. bone scan ECT good luck with your treatment gaz 👍

User
Posted 08 Nov 2022 at 17:39

As gaz61 says, it's fairly normal but what is a little unusual is that a treatment plan seems to have been decided before the biopsy and the subsequent MDT meeting. If the plan is to go down the HT/RT route (as opposed to prostatectomy) then RT will normally start further down the line when the HT has had sufficient time to start shrinking the tumour (typically six months).

User
Posted 08 Nov 2022 at 18:11