Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Diet and radiotherapy

User
Posted 11 Nov 2022 at 17:47

Hello, 

It's my first time on here, I hope that someone can help.

My dad has his CT planning scan next week and starts his radiotherapy the week after.  I'm looking for some dietary advice please.

I know that it's important for patients going through these procedures to avoid gassy foods in order to keep the bowels clear.  However, I also read one patient information leaflet that advocated a low fibre diet, but another leaflet that recommended a high fibre diet!  Can anyone help with this?  I would imagine that many high fibre foods e.g. nuts and dried fruit, are hard to breakdown, so they're worth avoiding, but if the diet is too low in fibre, then this could lead to constipation.  So, are we looking for a middle ground?

I'd be grateful if anyone had any useful links to dietary recommendations or guidelines that my dad could follow for the course of his radiotherapy.

Thanks

User
Posted 11 Nov 2022 at 20:14

Welcome to the forum Lara.

It is confusing, you do hear of different advice. I had salvage radiotherapy in August, having had an increase in PSA six years after being operated. My hospital was most concerned about gas, and their major advice was to avoid green vegetables. They did have me taking a (not too strong) laxative daily, so constipation wasn't their big concern.

In practice I switched from my usual fruit + muesli breakfast (fairly high fibre) to toast + marmalade and reduced but didn't totally avoid green veg/salad.