I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Suprapubic Catheter,

User
Posted 08 Mar 2023 at 12:28

This is my first time on this Prostate discussion, I had Prostate Cancer 20 odd years ago now it has returned, I opted for R/T and it seemed to do the trick. Now it is back I can't have surgery, or any more R/T andas my prostate is frozen the term they use now, it means hardened, it's getting very difficult to fit a ordinary Catheter, my consultant has said I could have a Suprapubic Catheter fitted has anyone on here know anything about this kind of Catheter to help me decide. Look forward to hearing from anyone.

Col.

User
Posted 08 Mar 2023 at 13:42

Col ,had one for the last as six years due to rare severe damage to the bladder. I wish I hadn't got one, but they are manageable. By coincidence I have just got back from the GP ,I have another water infection perhaps partly self inflicted while doing a flush. I don't get that many infections. 

I have mine changed every eight weeks, around 12 weeks is the maximum you can go between changes, I soon found 8 weeks was the right period for me. Changes vary from totally painless to Bl***y uncomfortable for a few minutes, you just have to find what works for you. I was so pleased when one of my DNs moved to another job. 

I have a flip flo and leg bag , the flip flo was there to try and keep the bladder operating normally, but I am beyond that. I still keep the flip Flo on the advice of different medics, as closing it for a while,then opening it is supposed flush rubbish out of the catheter.

A full urinary diversion was not an option for me. The advantage of suprapubic catheter over surgical diversion is the the SPC can be removed.

Hope that helps anymore questions please ask.

Thanks Chris 

Added 

Do they know the return is in the prostate ?

Edited by member 08 Mar 2023 at 13:44  | Reason: Not specified

User
Posted 08 Mar 2023 at 17:05