I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Another Englishman in France

User
Posted 18 Mar 2023 at 23:01

I live in the South of France near Montpellier. I had a urine infection last August and a PSA test showed a high level of 32. I had a full workup of physical examination by the urologist, ultrasound, CT scan and PET scan all which showed no metatases. Biopsy gave Gleason 3+4 with cancer in all samples with nerve infiltration and the cancer appeared to be outside the capsule. MRI confirmed this is the case. So I am T3N0M0 probably and CPG 5. Option of wait and see is out of course, I need treatment. I am a retired nurse who used to work on a cancer wing in a London hospital so I am realistic.

I have started HT (February) and will be having radiotherapy. I see a oncological radiologist next week and I will be having a second opinion while I am in England over Easter so I can speak in my own language. My French is OK but not fluent.

I have no questions at the moment but may ask some after seeing the radiologist. It might be useful to compare the treatments here with England. I suspect they are pretty much the same.

There is a cancer support charity for Anglophones in France called Cancer Support France. I had just started volunteering for them when I found I too had cancer. Weird eh?

User
Posted 19 Mar 2023 at 00:51

Your diagnosis is almost exactly the same as mine five years ago. Only difference is I was G4+5 and PSA was about 25. I had HT, HDR, EBRT. All my PSAs since treatment have been either 0.1 or 0.2 . I'm happy with that.

Dave

User
Posted 19 Mar 2023 at 12:36
That's great to hear. I have a couple of questions if you don't mind answering

Are you on any treatments now?

How long were you on HT? My urologist wants me on it for 3 years.