Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

RT without HT

User
Posted 21 Jun 2023 at 14:01

Hello, newbie here, trying to decide if I can avoid the HT as part of RT

I have localised T2 PCa with Gleason 3+4, PSA 22, all contained within the prostate, not in lymph nodes and no PNI; biopsy done in March 2023

I have had 3 MRIs, first pre-Covid measured at 50cc, second post-Covid at 38cc, this month at 42cc; the biopsy surgeon remarked that it was 'quite small'. No discernible waterworks issues and no noticeable deterioration since my first PSA test in May 2019

It's been a while coming (denial) but I've finally accepted that I need treatment and am opting for RT but there's a big question mark for me about the HT. Both the MDT and the radiologist are saying I should have it but that seems to be purely on the basis of NICE guidelines, risk algorithms and 'because that's the way we do it'. I asked the radiologist how many men out of 100 has she treated without HT before RT and she said none. I asked if she would treat me without HT and I received a quite reluctant yes. I don't feel that I'm being treated as an individual

The radiologist is also suggesting that I have 7.5 weeks of RT to also zap the lymph nodes even though there's no cancer there (apparently there may be microscopic traces); it seems to be based on new NICE guidelines

I don't want HT because of the side effects and because there are enough of them with RT. I understand that HT is designed to shrink the prostate pre-RT and to stop the cancer cells growing but the radiologist admitted that mine wasn't 'massive' and my cancer appears to be slow-growing

My view is that I'd be prepared to have HT if it was wholly necessary and whilst it may help the RT be more effective it won't necessarily impact the risk of recurrence

My question (yes, finally) is: are there any people here who have had RT without HT and did they have any regrets afterwards?