I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Biopsy concerns

User
Posted 12 Oct 2023 at 17:00

Hi all. My name is Tony and I'm very new to all this. Story so far.... Had PSA of 12 and consultant advised MRI. This showed an area of concern so now due for a biopsy later this month. Checking Dr Google's pages and have found a range of experiences from "worst pain ever" to "didn't hurt much at all". Guessing it'll just be down to a bit of luck on the day but would be chuffed if anyone could let me know how the actual biopsy experience was for them and obviously any advice would be very welcome. Thanks. 

User
Posted 12 Oct 2023 at 20:39
Hi Tony, sorry you have joined the club. My biopsy ( about a year ago ) was uncomfortable not painful. It does appear to be the luck of the draw. One quote from a radiography consultant was “if they get the local anaesthetic right you should be ok”. If! If.🤔

Recently I had a friend who had a biopsy and he thought it was very painful, urology consultant said these things can be hit or miss 😳

Sorry this won’t calm you. The biopsy is probably the “ worst “ procedure you will go through, anything which follows should be relatively straight forward.🤞

One thing which I would have never found out if I had not had the biopsy ( apart from the cancer ) was that apparently I had a rather tight anus 🤪 I bet it now looks like the end of a wizards sleeve 😎

Oh and I had blood in my urine for three weeks.

Click on my icon for more in depth details.

Hope the biopsy goes well.

Dave

User
Posted 12 Oct 2023 at 21:01

Hi Tony,

I think most biopsies are now down through the Perinium rather than the rectum as there is much less chance of infection. I would advise steering well clear of Dr Google and only use this site for info,