I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Transperineal Biopsy questions

User
Posted 16 Nov 2023 at 09:35

Hi guys. So after having the MRI results back which said a pirads 4 score, prostate size 33ml with a 11mm non- Circumscribed T2 hypo intensity in the prostate apex.

I’ve now been referred to have a Transperineal Biopsy in a few weeks time. Can anyone who had this biopsy give me a heads up on it please?  Just wanted to know how you got on afterwards regarding work as I’m a truck driver so spend most of the day sitting on my backside!🙂 

Hospital have advised me not to drive there & to get someone to drive me home & I need to have someone staying overnight too?? Will be given antibiotics for two days & to take paracetamol if needed.  
They didn’t mention anything about work so wondered how long it took for recovery afterwards, it’s being performed under local anaesthetic.🙂

User
Posted 16 Nov 2023 at 11:52

Hi Richard

I had it done under local and it was no problem. Your legs will be up in stirrups and you get the local anaesthetic, If I remember correctly they numb the local area and then insert anaesthetic deeper into the perenium. They insert an ultrasound into the rectum after doing a DRE. they then insert the needles to take the biopsies and you hear a click each time one is taken and a sharp prick as they take each sample. I found it uncomfortable  rather than painful and The nurses were great at protecting your modesty and also keeping your mind occupied during the procedure.

I didn’t really have any issues afterwards, a little tender for a couple of days and also blood in semen and pee, which is alarming but normal. I was out riding my ebike within a week if I remember correctly.

Everyone is different but for me it was ok.

Good luck with it!

Derek

User
Posted 16 Nov 2023 at 11:42

Hi again,

Yes, you must give a pee sample or two before you're released.