I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Is there a scale for PSA scores?

User
Posted 20 Dec 2023 at 14:52

Is there a scale for scores that helps people understand how good or bad their level is? As a newbie I would like to know where my PSA score of 11.7 sits. Thanks

User
Posted 21 Dec 2023 at 17:54

For your age the normal PSA should be around 6 and generally the severity of the cancer rises as the PSA level increases and depending on the source of information PSA over 10 (some consultants think over 20) may indicate that the cancer has spread beyond the gland but I don't think you should jump to conclusions. It is early days for you. There are many other factors to be considered before you can get an accurate diagnosis and then think about your treatment options. I was about your age when diagnosed 12 years ago. The treatment options have improved considerably since my prostatectomy. Your  prospects are very good.

'Physics is like sex: sure, it may give some practical results, but that’s not why we do it.'                    Richard Feynman (1918-1988) Nobel Prize laureate

User
Posted 21 Dec 2023 at 19:16

Made me laugh, thanks

Show Most Thanked Posts
User
Posted 20 Dec 2023 at 15:08
Medium. More than 20 would be high risk.

But, prostate cancer isn't that simple so without a biopsy you don't really know.

User
Posted 20 Dec 2023 at 20:31

People talk about risk in different ways. If you've only had a psa test and not a DRE or MRI then under 10 will be lower risk of actual cancer. 10 to 20 medium risk and over 20 higher risk and higher risk of spread.

PSA by itself is very unreliable. It can be inflammation in many cases, even up to psa 400.

After more tests psa still has the same boundaries but it is used to categorise whether you should get treated as low risk or slow growing or high risk faster growing