Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Nausea After Surgery

User
Posted 22 Feb 2017 at 09:42

Hi all,

Thank you in advance to offering replies to my query. This is my first time posting on here after lingering around and taking on board everyone's advice.

My dad was dianosed with prostate cancer a few weeks ago and had an open prostectomy on Monday evening (it's now Wednesday morning.) He's still in hospital now but is having a lot of trouble with nausea. Although he has pain, it seems to be a woozy feeling he gets whenever he tries to stand. I don't know if this is the anaesthetic still or maybe the morphine? He stopped taking the morphine this morning. Yesterday he had soup and yoghurt so hoping he will eat more today. My dad is 55 and pretty fit and this has really knocked him for six. He was expecting it to be bad but not this bad he says. He really is struggling to move around even when repositioning on the bed.

Just after some encouraging words to show him later really - that it will ease and get better.

Thanks in advance

B

User
Posted 22 Feb 2017 at 10:20

Oh dear. He has had major surgery and it is going to take some time to heal. He is still in the very early days.
As a woman I clearly haven't had this surgery but I have had two c-sections where they cut into your abdomen. My understanding is that open prostate surgery is more invasive than a c-section and 3 days after my surgery I was still in a lot of pain just shifting position in bed. If I sneezed I had to physically hold the scar as it felt like it was going to pop open. I would say it took about 2 weeks to be able to move freely and some pain still for a couple more weeks.
Make sure the nurses show him how to sit up. I.e. roll onto his side and use arms to push up into a sitting position. Also stay on top of the pain meds don't wait until it gets bad before taking more.