Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Pain after surgery

User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 19:08

Good evening,

well i had my radical prostatectomy two weeks ago . can anyone tell me what kind of pain i can expect or, what pain 

did you go through? 

regards

dark lane 

User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 20:53
At two weeks post-op the pain is usually felt in the abdominal area where muscles and flesh have been cut and bashed around, in the testicles, in the shoulder (due to gas if the RP was keyhole surgery), stomach and lower back if constipated, back / spine if you had epidural / spinal block for anaesthesia, muscle ache if you are sleeping in an unusual position.

If you have a lot of pain, are you overdoing things?

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." Soren Kierkegaard

User
Posted 31 Jan 2019 at 22:42

I'm not an expert like Super woman Lynn or bionic man Cheshire Chris 

But let me tell you this mate 

As Cheshire Chris said to me....and As super woman Lynn said to you 

It's a major operation you had...they had the cut through and work on it muscle s  etc.

It's a marathon type of recovery not a sprint 

Try to have rest rest rest but same time do as much walk as possible do have rest listen what your body says respect for your body. 

I used to walk like hunch back of Notre damus 

Was bending so much....So  whilst walking try to hold  a pillow on your tummy it would help you honestly. 

Hope there is somebody to care for you.

Eat plenty fruits .energy foods .

If you dont have to please don't go out. Walk in your house flat. 

This is very important 

***DO NOT LIFT ANY THING ****

At least for 6 weeks. Not even a pint of milk 

Good luck 

D.R 

Edited by member 04 Mar 2019 at 22:52  | Reason: Not specified

User
Posted 01 Feb 2019 at 09:46
Big thanks DR
Show Most Thanked Posts
User
Posted 30 Jan 2019 at 19:51
If you are not in pain now, you are unlikely to have any problems going forward Darklane