I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Wanting to come off Zoladex early

User
Posted 04 Dec 2022 at 10:14

I was diagnosed with with a T3b Gleason 9 locally advanced prostate cancer, August 2021, age 56.

I chose brachytherapy, 82% success with 5 1/2 weeks radiotherapy and 3yrs Zoladex,  compared to 60% success with  7 weeks of radiotherapy and 3yrs Zoladex.

Had my brachytherapy and radiotherapy in April/May.

For me, I am struggling with no testosterone due to Zoladex. I have fatigue, difficulty with memory, muscle/joint aches and pains, tingling in my feet and hands. Also the lack of erections and libido has a negative impact. Do others have all of the side effects? 

I am a teacher and manage to whizz through my day on adrenaline.

Now I am thinking of stopping Zoladex implants next May, a year after treatment, 2yrs earlier than recommend. Basing this on quality of life for me, but also on data, which I asked about. Being on 3yrs Zoladex gives a 90% chance of success after 10yrs, compared to only 1yr of Zoladex which gives 87% success after 10yrs. For me an easy choice due to small margins.

Has anyone else decided to stop early due to side effects and quality of life? How long to return to feeling normal? 

Many thanks for your time and support.

User
Posted 04 Dec 2022 at 12:50

This was posted on your other thread, when I had less details. The following member hated zoladex and stopped early.

https://community.prostatecanceruk.org/default.aspx?g=profile&u=49973

I've left the original post below as is. The fact you have found that it changes success from 90% to 87% is very helpful. Considering your adverse side effects you should come off.