I'm interested in conversations about and I want to talk about
Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

My dad has fallen and fractured his hip

User
Posted 12 Feb 2023 at 12:27

My dad had a fall on Friday and fractured his hip   He has extensive bony metastases and he trauma team have decided against surgery due to the state of the bone. He’s 85 🙁. Anyone else been in this situation? Any advice? He just wants to go home 😬

User
Posted 13 Feb 2023 at 17:23

Hi everyone 

Thanks for the replies. Amazingly the hospital are trying to get my dad up on his feet! Apparently, When he can walk with a frame, he can go home!. He has agreed to a carer going in once a day when he gets home and some equipment so the hospital are on it. Fingers crossed they can get him up without too much pain and they can get him home 🤞

User
Posted 12 Feb 2023 at 14:38

I have no direct experience of this. I am relatively young and (probably) cured. I have been on this site a couple of years and have seen a few threads, mainly posted by wives and daughters mentioning these problems caused by advanced cancer.

I think you have to realise that life expectancy for a man in the UK is 81. Your father has got to 84 before showing signs of cancer. So he is already beating the odds. 

Others on here and his medics may be able to list a load of possible treatments that may work. I am sure that somehow they could keep him alive for perhaps another three years, but why would he want that? I think you really need to be thinking of palliative care, and getting a hospice involved. Don't be frightened by the word hospice, these people can help with many things about end of life, and he may never need to go in a hospice. 

Just my twopena'th worth, others may disagree.

Dave

User
Posted 12 Feb 2023 at 21:46
I suggest you ask the Hospital for help with equipment to enable him to return home, the Palliative Care team could help too.

Chris.

User
Posted 13 Feb 2023 at 22:45